Alpine Orchestra rehearses

Members of the Alpine Orchestra practice for the upcoming livestream concert Nov. 14.

The Alpine Orchestra will perform “Through the Ages,” at 7 p.m., Nov. 14 with a program for what director Mary Hallman calls “a double string quartet with two more,” featuring the music of Mozart, Debussy and Bach, both real and imagined.

The performance at ClearView Church in Buena Vista will be livestreamed through the church’s Youtube channel.

“Through the Ages” includes works by J. S. Bach, Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart, Edvard Grieg, Claude Debussy and P.D.Q. Bach, a satirical fictional composer – supposedly the forgotten 21st son of the prolific Bach – created by Peter Schickele, a former student of the Aspen Music Festival and School.

The free concert can be seen and heard at

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.